Friday, May 23, 2014

Experts Exchange - worst 'web' site in the world.


Ugh.  I signed up for Experts Exchange to ask a single question, then didn't cancel like I should have.  They require a PHONE CALL to cancel a web membership. Now they've gotten a good 6 months of dues out of me.

So I finally did it.  I called.  The following hilarity ensued :

MAY 22, 2014  |  10:34AM PDT
Charles Nickerson replied:

Hello Mr. Romero,
Thank you for your voice mail message. I apologize you were not able to reach a representative.
All cancellation requests must be handled by phone, or live chat and processed by a live agent, I attempted to return your phone call message to make it as easy as possible, but was unable to get through and did not want to disrupt you at work, so I will make an exception in your case and help you cancel via email.
In order for me to process your cancellation, I will need some details regarding your experience. Can you tell me:
  • What led you to want to terminate your membership with Experts Exchange?
  • Was there anything about our service that didn’t meet or exceed your expectations?
  • Do you have any suggestions for what resources we could add to make Experts Exchange more valuable?
In addition, I’d like to tell you about some of our newest resources for networking with other IT professionals, and learning new skills on top of the great options we already provide for solving every day problems. I can also work with you on the price of your membership by adjusting your subscription plan to $9.95 or discounting your membership for 6 months to $5.95 if this would interest you to keep the resource available to you and keep Experts Exchange on retainer for your IT solution, Learning and Professional Networking needs.
Please email me back at your earliest convenience so that I may assist you further.
Regards,
Charles Nickerson
Customer Retention Specialist | Experts Exchange
Customer_Service@experts-exchange.com
p: (805) 787-0603 ext. 401 | f: (805) 593-0275
http://www.experts-exchange.com

This message was sent to rick@havokmon.com in reference to Case #: 195189.


So even though I called and cancelled, I can't cancel until I answer THEIR questions. Rather bemusing for a Q/A site.
Fine.

MAY 22, 2014  |  10:57AM PDT
Rick replied:
I asked a single question, and forgot to cancel - likely, the awful
requirement of calling customer service to be hassled to buy more products
is why I didn't call in the first place.

So now you can cancel, or I can submit a chargeback.

Rick


Now - I've clearly complained about the cancellation process, and the fact they've attempted to sell me, IMHO, 'additional product'.  It's additional because I'm cancelling, I don't want to continue.
I've also clearly told him to cancel the account.


MAY 22, 2014  |  11:30AM PDT
Charles Nickerson replied:
Hello Mr. Romero,
Thank you for your email,
I again apologize for the cancellation policy, it is not intended to sell you a product or more products or to even frustrate you. We maintain a community of IT users, professionals and experts. We only wish an opportunity to get any feedback regarding using the service, providing assistance to get better solutions, or offering you a discount to get more value from your membership and to ease the cost while you get more familiar with the site- we sell a membership to implementing better technology solutions, learning new technologies, and building professional networks to advance your career.
If this does not interest you at all I am happy to cancel your account and confirm the cancellation through email like I offered.If you are interested in trying the membership a little longer I can offer you discounted renewals for the next 6 months at $5.95 to make the membership more affordable and give you more value.
Please respond to this email with your answer and I will honor your request. Or, you can call me at P#877-211-8911 ext#231 ( my personal extension) and I can offer some assistance in getting better results from your questions with the “request attention” system- used when your question goes unanswered, or unresolved, for more than 24 hours, amd many other features the membership already offers you that you might not be aware of.
Thank you for your membership, we do appreciate it very much.
Regards.
Charles Nickerson
Customer Retention Specialist | Experts Exchange
Customer_Service@experts-exchange.com
p: (805) 787-0603 ext. 401 | f: (805) 593-0275
http://www.experts-exchange.com


So he ignored my 2nd cancel request, and continued to try and sell more products.

MAY 22, 2014  |  11:44AM PDT
Rick replied:
CANCEL!!!!!




Maybe that'll do it.
 

MAY 22, 2014  |  01:22PM PDT
Charles Nickerson replied:
Hello Mr. Romero,
Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your cancellation request.
Your Experts Exchange subscription has been cancelled as you requested to prevent future billing. A cancellation confirmation email has been sent to your email address rick@havokmon.com. Your cancellation confirmation number is 787758. You will continue to have access to your account until the paid time runs out on 06/09/2014.
Thank you for your membership with Experts Exchange and have a great day!
Regards.
Charles Nickerson
Customer Retention Specialist | Experts Exchange
Customer_Service@experts-exchange.com
p: (805) 787-0603 ext. 401 | f: (805) 593-0275
http://www.experts-exchange.com
 
Avoid signing up at this place like the plague.

1 comment:

Blogger said...

If you want your ex-girlfriend or ex-boyfriend to come crawling back to you on their knees (no matter why you broke up) you need to watch this video
right away...

(VIDEO) Why your ex will NEVER come back...